Reviews – High Trees Exuma

Reviews – High Trees Exuma – Book private house exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers Bay Exuma BahamasBeach House Hoopers

Tropic of Cancer Beach – Visit the famous Tropic of Cancer Beach. In spite of its fame you will never feel crowded on this long white sand beach. Drive across the bridge to Little Exuma, travel through the settlement of Forbes Hill and go through a sharp right curve in the road.Once the road straightens drive a few minutes until you see the first street light on a telephone pole on your left. Take the left turn onto a rough gravel road at the light. Follow it about a 1/4 mile until you reach a T. Go right and drive until you reach the beach access hut and a half mile down the road.

Forbes Hill Beaches – Drive across the bridge into Little Exuma and follow until your reach Forbes Hill. As you drive through the settlement you will see a Beach Access sign on your left. This takes you to a wonderful little cove beach.If you continue down the Queen’s Highway just past the settlement you will come to a sharp right turn in the road. Make a left at that curve onto a dirt road. Follow it a hundred feet until you see a place to park and walk the rest of the way. A most amazing beach that is usually almost empty.

Beach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas

Bay Exuma BahamasBeach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers Bay Exuma BahamasBeach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers Bay

Exuma BahamasBeach House 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers Bay Exuma BahamasBeach Hous Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on HoopersBay Exuma BahamasBeach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers

Bay Exuma BahamasBeach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas your own private beach house with 150ft of beach front and private dock on Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas Beach House Hoopers Bay Exuma Bahamas

Book private house exuma Bahamas

Guest Reviews

We can’t wait to return

A family of 5 with 3 grown boys (22, 20 & 17) from St.Louis, Missouri:
We have visited various other islands in the Bahamas, USVI & BVI both on land and sailboat, and always wanted to experience the Exumas. We all love to boat, fish and be in the water. The Exumas was everything we thought it was going to be, plus more! The water color and beaches are truly spectacular, even more beautiful than the other Bahamian islands to the north. We took the suggestion of the property owner/manager and rented a boat for the week from an independent guy (not Mim’s Watersports) that allowed us to keep the boat for the week on the dock right at the house. We timed our arrival for the lobster season and hired a guide recommended by the house manager – he took us on a day trip to Little Exuma and we speared for lobster, a great experience for us all and supplied us with many fabulous outdoor meals at High Trees! We quickly realized that Exuma is not a destination for those looking for fine dining – but that was fine by us as we love to cook and seafood was plentiful if you like to fish. The meat market, liquor store and small grocery store couldn’t be closer to the home, making meals and cocktails simple at the house (must rent a car at the airport). And quite honestly, there is no restaurant that even comes close to duplicating Mark’s veranda overlooking the water! We did enjoy our daily trips to Chat-n-Chill by boat and enjoyed a couple lunches there as well – good conch burgers and a great place to talk to the locals.

And here we go, saving the best for last: High Trees is exceptionally well situated, appointed and a truly special place that was enjoyed by us all! After touring the island, we realized what a primo set up we had for the week, as most properties are not situated in a quaint & most quiet cove of water with a private dock and pristine beach! We felt the owners passion for his home, as it is crafted with great style, ingenuity and with a focus on bringing the outdoors in! 3 master suites with a loft were perfect for our family. The kitchen is charming and equipped to the 9’s – the independent, full size commercial ice maker was a treat and made our day trips on the boat (and cocktails on the veranda) so easy! Fabulous family room open to the kitchen was a great space and tastefully appointed – however, we never turned the tv on or ate a meal inside. The veranda with outdoor family room and dining area was where we lived when not on the boat – the view is truly unbelievable and unlike anything we could wish for. We can’t wait to return, but as I told John & Lynn Toker (fabulous property managers), a stay at any other home on the island would likely be a disappointment after spending a week at High Trees. If you’re looking for luxurious accommodations and love to fish, boat, swim and just plain relax, this is it!

Thank you Mark and everyone at the Good Life for making our trip so special.

Suzie and John W.

Paradise found

High Trees was probably the nicest beach house we’ve ever has the pleasure of staying in. I’m not sure that a better back yard exists. The house is comfortably appointed and was perfectly suited for our two families. Air conditioning is always a concern when visiting the Caribbean but was never an issue at High Trees. The main house was always cool and the individual units in each bedroom provided perfect sleeping conditions after a long day in the sun. The bed linens were extremely comfortable and we found ourselves expressing to each other how well we were sleeping vs. other vacation homes we’ve stayed in. The kitchen was well appointed and allowed us to cook a variety of items throughout the week. We were looking forward to sailing the sunfish around the bay but, unfortunately, previous house guests apparently damaged the sail and the replacement hadn’t made its way there yet. The owner provided another water toy we were in much need of in response so all was good. The dock is well maintained and, at high tide, provided a diving board of sorts for adults and kids alike. I have to say that sitting in the water while sea turtles swam among us was probably the highlight of the trip. Although we never fed the turtles (as instructed), we still had numerous daily interactions with them. We did see quite a few guided tours come through and it appears they were encouraging folks to feed and even pick up the turtles. This was an unfortunate occurrence and something that really upset our children. No reflection on the property at all but definitely an observation of something that may need to be addressed before the turtles become aggressive. We heard stories about other similar locations becoming increasingly dangerous due to the aggression of the turtles and would hate to see this happen in Hooper’s Bay as it really is quiet a special place. Our experience with the sea life in the bay was amazing. The paddle board and kayak were in good condition and used daily. We found ourselves wanting to venture away from the property less and less each day given the beauty of the location and the plethora of water toys at our disposal. The proximity of the property to Smitty’s and to Ron at Prime Island Meats (no better place to get meat on the island) was ideal. If you are interested in having a backyard with calm crystal-clear blue waters, friendly sea turtles, and a beautiful beach, High Trees might be your place.

• Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
• Stayed: July 2017

John P.

Atlanta, Georgia

We had an AMAZING stay at High Trees! Breathtaking in every way!!!

I cannot describe how perfect our vacation was at High Trees. The house was immaculate and the beach was absolutely gorgeous! We loved everything about it!

• Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
• Stayed: June 2017

Monica S.

If I could build my dream house it would be High Trees!

We just returned, last night, to Minnesota from a week at High Trees and I wanted to let you know that your house and property are amazing and we hope we can visit again. We really enjoyed our time there thank you so much for working with us so we could rent your home. If I could build my dream house it would be High Trees!

Sara Tibbits
Date of Stay – March 2018

PERFECTION!

Hands down the best vacation we have ever had. We were so lucky to have discovered such an amazing place to vacation with family. We were told by the owners that the house is brand new and the workmanship and detail put into it is obvious from every angle. The house itself would be enough to warrant 5 stars but, when you find that house on the most beautiful, serene beach imaginable – we just had to pinch ourselves.

The sea turtles were the icing on the cake! A family of three turtles came out to swim with us daily from under the dock and would eat from our hand. It was just the absolute coolest. And, sunset and cocktails on the dock – heaven.

The owners were extremely charming, attentive and delightful. We can’t wait to return.

Anonymous

Swimming, laughing and drinking with friends.

My husband and I recently retired and had always dreamed of a relaxing island getaway. Friends suggested Exuma and a secluded little beach called Hoopers Bay. We came across HighTrees and decided to make it a two week vacation with two another couples.

While my husband and his buddies learned to scuba dive, we ladies treated ourselves to massages and sunrise yoga with the amazing Lyn. The days were ended with conversation, laughter, wine and the most amazing sunsets on the beach.

Camilla and Mark were fabulous people and will remain friends for life.

It was the most amazing trip and a retirement celebration worth waiting for.

We were rejuvenated but sad to leave.

Anonymous

Idyllic location and beautiful house

High Trees is a stunning destination, nestled amongst the palm trees on the white sandy beach of Hoopers Bay which has truly stunning clear warm water with turtles under the dock a few metres from the house. The house is designed with all the luxuries you could possibly need, with a beautiful vaulted ceiling in the main area, a fantastic kitchen and doors opening out onto the deck with a view across the beach and bay. The island has lots of activities including diving, boat trips, golf and spas. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend High Trees for a special vacation.

Rhiannon Wakefield (Berkshire, UK)
Date of Stay – Jul 2016

Spectacular doesn’t cover it.

If you dream of a private tropical retreat, with your own beach and BRAND NEW West Indies style home – you’ve found it. A week here feels like a month in most places. Complete rejuvenation on a very quiet island. The pictures create the excitement of what you might expect – but the reality is so much more. Can’t wait to go back!

Natalie Tanner
Date of Stay – Sep 2016

Prettier than a postcard

Waking up to an ocean breeze and sipping my morning coffee, I looked out at the most spectacular beach view that I had only ever thought existed on postcards.

My boyfriend and I live in a busy chaotic city and both face the demands of a high stress job. This summer, we decided that we needed to get away. After deciding on a tropical location and doing much online research, I discovered HighTrees and I immediately knew it was the perfect fit. The house alone is absolutely stunning, tucked away at the end of a winding private driveway and nestled right on the beach. The house is airy and beautifully decorated, perfectly mixing chic designs with a relaxed beachy vibe.

The pictures are obviously beautiful, but you can’t understand how perfectly crystal blue the Exuma waters are until you’re actually in them. The hosts, Camilla and Mark, were absolutely wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay as incredible as possible.

It’s safe to say that after this trip, it will be hard to go back to city life, but knowing that HighTrees is just a plane ride away makes me sleep a little easier at night. We will definitely be coming back!

Annie Basham
Date of Stay – Jul 2016

Two weeks of bliss

I fancied a 2 week break in a warm climate where my son and I could finish our PADI scuba course and where my wife and other son wouldn’t be too bored.

Well I found just that at High Trees.

Exuma is an enchanting place with a pace of life to suit. From the moment we landed to wheels up on our departure I had the best of time.

High Trees is an opulent yet functional house located right on the beach in Hoopers Bay. The bay is sheltered from the prevailing wind so the water is very calm, simply lapping up and down on the beach. The water is warm and inviting and the house has its own jetty/dock where you can snorkel for fish and turtles, and the occasional Barracuda.

The house itself is modern, yet with a nod to local build. Is air conditioned, as well as fanned, so one is never uncomfortable and it has all modern ammenities to make your stay truly fab. Nowhere is too far away on the island and you can rent boats and cars and there are many trips to see swimming pigs, Iguanas and startlinly beautiful places.

We had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning….sooner rather than later.

Anonymous

a Thing of Beauty

Words alone cannot describe the beauty of this property and although the photographs are representative, it is much better in real life.

Our entire family agreed is was the best vacation house we have ever experienced .

The attention to details by both Camila and Mark, and local team Onike and John was excellent.

The house is well designed and built and offers beautiful and comfortable settings all around.

It is well equipped and offers plenty of activities for both adults and children.

Exuma is a very relaxing island with friendly people . Provisioning food and drinks is easy.

We highly recommended it and would be delighted to return in the near future.

Nathalie barry (Montreal)
Date of Stay – Dec 2016

Paradise Found!

I am the type of person who writes reviews when there is much to criticize. In fact, I wouldn’t ordinarily bother writing a review when everything is as advertised. However, this property greatly exceeded our expectations. I came with my wife and our two children, so we had an incredible amount of extra space. What’s more, High Trees was so perfect in every way that I feel compelled to compliment the owner for building such a fantastic home and furnishing it with so much attention to detail. Everything — and I mean EVERYTHING — about this house and its grounds was spot on. It’s brand new construction — and it was well built, and the amenities are all first-rate. The grounds are amazing, too, even if still “growing in.” And, what could be better than a sea-front house with its own private beach and dock? Simply stunning. My only regret is we booked for a week. Next time it’ll be a fortnight!

Jack Gordon
Date of Stay – Feb 2017

A hidden Jewel of a rental property

I am not a great writer of reviews as typically for self serving reasons i like to keep really great things i find to myself, especially an island hideaway of this magnitude. But the owner of this property seriously warrants this review for a job exceptionally well done!

From the moment we pulled into the private driveway and approached the house, we knew we had found a place that would ticks every box in every way for our family to seriously enjoy a high end Bahamian vacation.

The location, whether to the crystal clear turtle filled sea in front of you, or the best of the local of local eating spots, or such practical places as the supermarket or bank, is perfect, allowing you to dip in and out of the outside world at ones convenience, whilst staying in the most beautiful, private, undisturbed and tasteful Rental property there must be on Exuma.

No detail has been spared by the owner of this property , whether its the view from the breakfast bar as one starts ones day, or the decks from which to take an afternoon nap or read that holiday novel, or the crisp linen bedding and wonderfully oversized beds in each bedroom and classical highly spacious interiors of the house, or the beautiful dock running into the sublime waters of Hoopers Bay, abound with sea turtles and fish of all shapes and sizes to amaze at. In a week we may have only encountered 10 or less people wandering past us down the beach.

Its a private beach paradise of the highest quality and a real hidden jewel of a rental home. We will definitely be returning and hopefully soon!

Charle B. (Vermont USA)
Date of Stay – Feb 2017

Paradise is HighTrees!!

We’ve just returned for a sun soaked week at HighTrees. Our group had the most perfect week imaginable. If what you are looking for is a combination of culture, sun and crystal blue waters then look no further, you have found your getaway. The home is even better than the pictures.

Simply put, Hightrees is perhaps the nicest home on undoubtedly the best beach in the Exuma’s. It is brand new with high-end finishes. Just the right distance from George Town and centrally located within the Island on Hoopers Bay. I am spoiled for Life. A big thanks to our hosts Mark and Camilla for helping make our vacation spectacular.

Shaun Buss
Date of Stay – Apr 2017

We had an AMAZING stay at High Trees! Breathtaking in every way!!!

I cannot describe how perfect our vacation was at High Trees. The house was immaculate and the beach was absolutely gorgeous! We loved everything about it!

Monica Spears
Date of Stay – Jun 2017

Paradise found

High Trees was probably the nicest beach house we’ve ever has the pleasure of staying in. I’m not sure that a better back yard exists. The house is comfortably appointed and was perfectly suited for our two families. Air conditioning is always a concern when visiting the Caribbean but was never an issue at High Trees. The main house was always cool and the individual units in each bedroom provided perfect sleeping conditions after a long day in the sun. The bed linens were extremely comfortable and we found ourselves expressing to each other how well we were sleeping vs. other vacation homes we’ve stayed in. The kitchen was well appointed and allowed us to cook a variety of items throughout the week. We were looking forward to sailing the sunfish around the bay but, unfortunately, previous house guests apparently damaged the sail and the replacement hadn’t made its way there yet. The owner provided another water toy we were in much need of in response so all was good. The dock is well maintained and, at high tide, provided a diving board of sorts for adults and kids alike. I have to say that sitting in the water while sea turtles swam among us was probably the highlight of the trip. Although we never fed the turtles (as instructed), we still had numerous daily interactions with them. We did see quite a few guided tours come through and it appears they were encouraging folks to feed and even pick up the turtles. This was an unfortunate occurrence and something that really upset our children. No reflection on the property at all but definitely an observation of something that may need to be addressed before the turtles become aggressive. We heard stories about other similar locations becoming increasingly dangerous due to the aggression of the turtles and would hate to see this happen in Hooper’s Bay as it really is quiet a special place. Our experience with the sea life in the bay was amazing. The paddle board and kayak were in good condition and used daily. We found ourselves wanting to venture away from the property less and less each day given the beauty of the location and the plethora of water toys at our disposal. The proximity of the property to Smitty’s and to Ron at Prime Island Meats (no better place to get meat on the island) was ideal. If you are interested in having a backyard with calm crystal-clear blue waters, friendly sea turtles, and a beautiful beach, High Trees might be your place.

John Panessa (Atlanta, Georgia)
Date of Stay – Jul 2017